fbpx Natural Areas Conservation Training N-ACT Program | The Morton Arboretum

Natural Areas Conservation Training N-ACT Program

Course List

  • Enrich your understanding of our local natural areas by learning to identify the most common native plants you’re likely to encounter at The Morton Arboretum. Wednesday, June 12, 2019, 6:30 to 9:30 p.m., or Saturday, August 17, 2019, 8:00 to 11:00 a.m.
  • Get the botany basics you need to identify plants. Whether you are a natural resources volunteer or specialist, gardener, naturalist, or artist this class provides the fundamentals you need to get started at The Morton Arboretum. Sunday, June 9, 1:00 to 3:00 p.m., or Saturday, September 21, 9:00 to 11:30 a.m.
  • Digitally explore the intricacies of the prairie landscape and learn how to restore these signature American ecosystems at The Morton Arboretum. Thursday, June 27, 2019, or Wednesday, September 18, 2019, 12:00 p.m. U.S. Central time: Online course becomes available
  • Learn to identify dragonflies and damselflies on the grounds of the Arboretum. (NEW SECTION ADDED) Friday, June 28, 2019, 8:00 to 11:00 a.m. (SOLD OUT) Friday, June 14, 2019, 8:00 to 11:30 a.m.
  • Learn the names and ecology of the wildflowers, sedges, rushes, and other plants that inhabit wetlands at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, June 29, 2019, 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
  • Learn the identification skills to manage, restore, or simply enjoy prairie habitats at The Morton Arboretum. (Registration opens May 21, 2019) Three Tuesdays, July 9 through July 23, 2019, 6:00 to 8:00 p.m.
  • Learn the essentials of wetland ecology and the vital management techniques necessary to maintain threatened wetland ecosystems at The Morton Arboretum. Two days: Wednesday, July 10, 6:30 to 8:30 p.m., and Saturday, July 13, 2019 8:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.
  • Learn to effectively and efficiently use the tools of the trade to tackle different restoration jobs at The Morton Arboretum. Tuesday, July 9, 2019, 12:00 p.m.: Online materials become available. Tuesday, July 16, 2019, 6:30 to 8:30 p.m: In-person session at Thornhill Education Center, OR Tuesday, September 10, 2019, 12:00 p.m.: Online materials become available. Tuesday, September 17, 2019, 6:30 to 8:30 p.m: In-person session at Thornhill Education Center
  • Discover the principles and practice of ecosystem restoration at The Morton Arboretum. Registration opens May 21, 2019. Thursday, July 11, 2019, 12:00 p.m.: Online materials become available. Saturday July 20, and Saturday, July 27, 2019, 9:00 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.
  • Learn to identify and manage the most common invasive plants in the Great Lakes region at The Morton Arboretum. Dates vary starting Wednesday, July 17, 2019
  • Explore the interactions that drive ecosystem function and learn to identify plants, animals, and fungi in relation to ecological habitats at The Morton Arboretum. Thursday, July 18, 2019, 12:00 p.m.: Online materials become available. Sunday, July 28, 2019, 9:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.: In person session meets.
  • Get the botany basics you need to identify plants. Whether you are a natural resources volunteer or specialist, gardener, naturalist, or artist this class provides the fundamentals you need to get started. Wednesday, May 29, 2019, 12:00 p.m., or Wednesday, July 31, 2019, 12:00 p.m. U.S. Central time: Online course becomes available
  • Learn to identify the trees you see every day in the woodlands and neighborhoods of the Chicago region at The Morton Arboretum. Friday, August 2, 2019, 12:00 p.m.: Online materials become available. Friday, August 9, 2019, 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.: In person session meets. OR Friday, September 6, 2019, 12:00 p.m.: Online materials become available. Saturday, September 14, 2019, 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.: In person session meets
  • Learn to identify the common trees you see in local preserves or in your neighborhood at The Morton Arboretum. Thursday, June 6, 2019, 6:30 to 9:00 p.m.; Thursday, July 18, 2019, 9:00 to 11:30 a.m.; or Saturday, September 7, 2019, 8:00 to 10:30 a.m.
  • Join us for a FREE orientation program on the Natural Areas Conservation Training Program Orientation (formally the Woodland Stewardship Program) at the Morton Arboretum. Wednesday, June 5, or August 7, 2019, 6:30 to 8:00 p.m.
  • Join botanist Chris Benda for a guided tour of Northern Flatwoods in northeastern Illinois. Sunday, August 11, 2019, 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
  • Enrich your understanding of our local natural areas by learning to identify the most common native plants you’re likely to encounter at The Morton Arboretum. Wednesday, June 12, 2019, 6:30 to 9:30 p.m., or Saturday, August 17, 2019, 8:00 to 11:00 a.m.
  • Go beyond the basics and improve your ability to identify the diverse and beautiful plants of the tallgrass prairie at The Morton Arboretum. Two days: Thursday, August 29, and Friday, August 30, 2019, 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
  • Learn to identify the trees you see every day in the woodlands and neighborhoods of the Chicago region at The Morton Arboretum. Friday, August 2, 2019, 12:00 p.m.: Online materials become available. Friday, August 9, 2019, 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.: In person session meets. OR Friday, September 6, 2019, 12:00 p.m.: Online materials become available. Saturday, September 14, 2019, 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.: In person session meets
  • Learn to identify the grasses that add beauty and interest to the summer and fall landscape at The Morton Arboretum. Two days: Tuesday, September 10, and Wednesday, September 11, 2019, 9:00 a.m.to 4:00 p.m.
  • Learn to identify the less common trees and shrubs found in the state of Illinois at The Morton Arboretum. Friday, September 13, 2019, 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
  • Explore the colorful landscape of the fall prairie and discover the amazing relationships between the plants and animals that call it home at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, September 14, 2019, 8:30 to 11:30 a.m.
  • Learn to identify and manage the most common invasive plants in the Great Lakes region at The Morton Arboretum. Dates vary starting Wednesday, July 17, 2019
  • Get the botany basics you need to identify plants. Whether you are a natural resources volunteer or specialist, gardener, naturalist, or artist this class provides the fundamentals you need to get started at The Morton Arboretum. Sunday, June 9, 1:00 to 3:00 p.m., or Saturday, September 21, 9:00 to 11:30 a.m.
  • Learn the essentials of woodland ecology and the woodland management techniques necessary to maintain threatened woodland ecosystems at The Morton Arboretum. Thursday, September 26, 2019, 12:00 p.m. U.S. Central time: Online course becomes available.
  • Digitally explore the intricacies of the prairie landscape and learn how to restore these signature American ecosystems at The Morton Arboretum. Thursday, June 27, 2019, or Wednesday, September 18, 2019, 12:00 p.m. U.S. Central time: Online course becomes available
  • Chicago Wilderness will offer three winter sessions of the Midwest Ecological Prescription Burn Crew Member Training class at The Morton Arboretum. Two days: Saturday and Sunday, September 21 and 22, 2019, 8:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m., or Thursday and Friday, October 3 and 4, 2019, 8:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.
  • Strengthen your skills leading volunteers in natural areas management with this interactive primer for volunteer stewardship activity planning, group dynamics, safety, and volunteer empowerment at The Morton Arboretum. This class will be offered again in Fall 2019. Registration will open Tuesday, August 20, 2019.