fbpx Gardening and Horticulture | The Morton Arboretum

Gardening and Horticulture

Course List

  • Discover another side of poet Emily Dickinson, who was also an avid gardener at The Morton Arboretum. Wednesday, November 13, 2019, 7:00 to 8:30 p.m.
  • Late autumn is one of the best times to prune for plant structure. The foliage has fallen, revealing the limbs and form of the plant. In this workshop you will learn structural pruning techniques for specimen shrubs, small ornamental trees, and young trees at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, November 2, or Thursday, November 14, 2019, 9:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.
  • Create a seasonal centerpiece for your holiday table while learning principles of floral design at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, November 23, 2019, 1:00 to 3:00 p.m., or Tuesday, November 26, 2019, 7:00 to 9:00 p.m.,
  • Just in time for the holiday season, find out how you can incorporate evergreen branches and boughs into elegant holiday swags at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, December 7, 2019, 10:00 a.m. to noon.
  • Celebrate the winter season with a wonderful winter container filled with seasonal branches, berries, and colorful twigs at The Morton Arboretum. Thursday, December 5, 2019, 7:00 to 9:00 p.m., or Saturday, December 7, 1:00 to 3:00 p.m.
  • Join an Arboretum expert for a cup of hot cocoa and a winter stroll through the conifer collection. Saturday, December 7 or 14, 2019, 1:00 to 3:00 p.m.
  • Create a festive, long-lasting botanical arrangement to display in your home during the holidays, using a wintery mix of greenery and flowers at The Morton Arboretum. Thursday, December 19, 2019, 7:00 to 9:00 p.m.
  • Get the botany basics you need to identify plants. Whether you are a natural resources volunteer or specialist, gardener, naturalist, or artist this class provides the fundamentals you need to get started. Fall: Tuesday, October 29, 2019: Registration closes at 11:59 p.m. Wednesday, October 30, 2019: Winter: Online course available, or Tuesday, January 21, 2020: Registration closes at 11:59 p.m. Wednesday, January 22, 2020: Online course available at noon
  • Practice correct pruning techniques and learn which plants to prune now and more importantly, which to prune later at The Morton Arboretum. Online component begins: Thursday, January 16 at noon and In-person class meets: Thursday, January 23, 9:00 to 11:30 a.m., or Online component begins: Monday, January 27 at noon and In-person class meets: Saturday, February 1, 9:00 to 11:30 a.m.
  • Learn to call plants by their botanical names and learn 40 common plant species that are native to Illinois at The Morton Arboretum. Tuesday, November 12, 2019: Online course begins, or Wednesday, February 12, 2020: Online course begins
  • Learn to identify plants without leaves or flowers. Explore the Schulenberg Prairie and adjacent woodlands to practice identifying native perennials and grasses in winter with a local expert at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, March 7, 2019, 8:00 a.m. to noon.
  • Learn spring methods for propagating your favorite native plants. Learn how to bring seeds out of stratification, plant in seed trays and transplant seedlings at The Morton Arboretum.Sunday, March 8, 2020, 1:00 to 4:30 p.m.
  • Get the botany basics you need to identify plants. Whether you are a natural resources volunteer or specialist, gardener, naturalist, or artist this class provides the fundamentals you need to get started at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, March 28, 2020, 12:30 to 3:00 p.m.