fbpx Outdoor Skills and Adventure | The Morton Arboretum

Outdoor Skills and Adventure

Paddle a section of the Kankakee River, a National Water Trail noted for its scenic beauty and water quality, and learn the natural history of this unique area. Saturday, August 3, 2019, 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Ron Nosek of Nature Education Programs brings his What 2 Know B4 You Go program to the Arboretum this summer. Learn skills you need to survive in the wilderness in this practical, hands-on workshop. Saturday, July 13, 2019, 9:00 to noon.
Discover the natural history of northeast Illinois as we cycle the roads of the Arboretum. Sunday, September 8, 2019, 1:00 to 3:00 p.m.
Come nibble the new shoots of wild edible plants and taste how good spring can be at The Morton Arboretum. (CANCELED) Wednesday, May 22, 6:00 to 8:00 p.m.
Grab a flashlight and hit the trail for a night of troll hunting at The Morton Arboretum! Thursday, May 23, 7:30 to 9:30 p.m.
Get the skills you need to build a “sure-fire” campfire in this hands-on workshop at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, September 21, 2019, 9:30 to 11:30 a.m.
Paddle the Rock River in Oregon, Illinois, and learn the geology and natural history of this unique area. RESCHEDULED to the rain date: Saturday, June 22, 9:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.
Explore the colorful landscape of the fall prairie and discover the amazing relationships between the plants and animals that call it home at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, September 14, 2019, 8:30 to 11:30 a.m.
Get outdoors with your family or friends this summer! New to camping? No problem. This class will teach you everything you need to know to have a fun and safe weekend under the stars at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, May 18, 2019, 9:00 to 11:30 a.m.
Be prepared for your next wilderness outing; learn to find your way using a map and compass at The Morton Arboretum. Sunday, July 14, 2019, noon to 4:00 p.m.

Page controls