search

Woodland Stewardship Program

  • Discover the principles and practice of ecosystem restoration at The Morton Arboretum .Online component begins: Friday, October 20, 2017, In person component: Two Saturdays, October 28 and November 11, 2017, 9:00 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.
  • Learn how and when to collect seeds from your favorite native plants at The Morton Arboretum. Sunday, October 22, 2017, 9:00 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.
  • Explore the interactions that drive ecosystem function and learn to identify plants, animals, and fungi in relation to ecological habitats at The Morton Arboretum. Online component begins: Friday, October 27, 2017, In person component: Saturday, November 4, 2017, 1:00 to 5:00 p.m.
  • As a steward, site manager, naturalist, or other natural resource leader, you may find giving talks and guided walks to the public is a daunting task! Polish your public speaking skills and gain confidence in working with people -- especially the difficult ones -- as you gain tips and tricks for strengthening your tours and hikes at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, October 28, 2017, 8:00 a.m. to noon
  • Get the botany basics you need to identify plants at The Morton Arboretum. Online components start Thursday, August 31 or Friday, October 20, 2017. Multiple sections.
  • Learn to effectively and efficiently use the tools of the trade to tackle different restoration jobs at The Morton Arboretum. Dates vary with online component starting Tuesday September 5, or Tuesday November 7, 2017. Multiply sections.
  • Learn the essentials of woodland ecology and the woodland management techniques necessary to maintain threatened woodland ecosystems at The Morton Arboretum. Thursday, November 16, 2017
  • Identify and apply short and long term restoration activities to enhance wildlife habitat at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, November 18, 2017, 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
  • Strengthen your skills leading volunteers in natural areas management with this interactive primer for volunteer stewardship activity planning, group dynamics, safety, and volunteer empowerment at The Morton Arboretum. (CANCELED) Online component begins: Friday, Aug 11, 2017, In person component: Saturday, Aug 19, 2017, 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.