Class listings

Hone your waterfowl identification skills as you explore this magnificent wetland restoration in Putnam County. Two days: Wednesday, April 25, 7:00 to 9:00 p.m., 2018 at The Morton Arboretum, and Saturday, April 28, 9:00 a.m. to noon, 2018 at Dixon Waterfowl Refuge.
Learn how to identify Illinois' spring resident and migratory birds by sight and call and meet other birders at The Morton arboretum. Five Saturdays, April 28 through June 2 (no class on May 19), 2018, 8:00 to 11:30 a.m.
Discover what happens at the Arboretum at night, when no one is around at The Morton Arboretum. Dates vary starting Sunday, April 29, through Thursday, June 28, 2018, 7:30 to 9:30 p.m. Multiple sections.
After dark, the wild things come alive! Hoots, howls, and rustling in the bushes--what’s behind the sounds that frighten or intrigue us on our evenings out at The Morton Arboretum. Two Tuesdays, May 1 and 8, 2018, 6:30 to 9:30 p.m.
Learn about the New Invaders Watch Program and how to get involved in monitoring and reporting invasive plants that are new to our region at The Morton Arboretum. Wednesday, May 2, 2018, 6:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.
Be a part of advancing early childhood learning in nature through a summit for educators and researchers on play and learning in outdoor spaces at The Morton Arboretum. Wednesday, May 2, 2018, 5:30 to 7:30 p.m., and Thursday, May 3, 2018, 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Wander through the ever-changing array of blooms in our woodlands and prairie to learn how to identify wildflowers such as trillium, mayapple, and dog-tooth violet and hear about their folklore at The Morton Arboretum. Thursday, April 19, Saturday, April 28, or Friday, May 4, 2018, 8:30 to 11:00 a.m.
Get the botany basics you need to identify plants at The Morton Arboretum. New Online section added: Registration closes at 11:59 p.m., Wednesday, March 14, 2018. Online component begins: Thursday, March 15, 2018. Winter sessions start Sunday, May 6 for In-person only or Friday, June 1 for online only section.
REI is partnering with NOLS to offer a comprehensive 16 hour, two day course that will teach you the wilderness medicine skills you need to recreate with confidence in the backcountry at The Morton Arboretum. (SOLD OUT) Saturday and Sunday, May 5 and 6, 2018, 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.
Learn the names and ecology of the wildflowers that cover the woodland floor in spring at The Morton Arboretum. Online component begins: Friday, April 20, 2018 In person component: Friday, May 4 or Saturday, May 5, 2018, 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Page controls