The Morton Arboretum logo

Class listings

Trees and Ecology

Nature at Night Hike

Discover what happens at the Arboretum at night when no one is around. Friday, June 24, 2016, or Friday, July 22, 2016, 8:00 to 9:30 p.m.

Intro to Ecological Restoration (online and in person)

Discover the principles and practice of ecosystem restoration at The Morton Arboretum. Two Wednesdays, July 6 and 13, 2016, 6:30 to 8:30 p.m.

Invasive Species I: Online and in-person

Learn to identify and manage the most common invasive plants in the Great Lakes region at The Morton Arboretum. Online class component begins: begins Thursday, July 7, 2016, In-person component: Thursday, July 14, 2016, 6:00 to 9:00 p.m.

Summer Wildflower Walk

Explore the ever-changing colorful flowers and swaying grasses of the Arboretum’s prairies, woodlands and wetlands alongside an expert. Saturday, June 18, 2016, or Friday, July 8, 2016, 8:30 to 10:30 a.m.

Family Twilight Adventures

Join us for a fun-filled adventure after hours at the Arboretum! Dates and times vary starting July 8, 2016, Multiple sections.

Monarchs & Margaritas

Enjoy a margarita and chips and salsa while learning about the monarch butterflies’ amazing migration between Mexico and North America at The Morton Arboretum. Tuesday, July 12, 2016, 7:00 to 9:00 p.m.

Wetland Ecology

Learn the essentials of wetland ecology and the vital management techniques necessary to maintain threatened wetland ecosystems at The Morton Arboretum. Wednesday, July 13, 6:30 to 8:30 p.m., and Saturday, July 16, 8:00 a.m. to noon.

Basic Plant ID (Online and in-person)

Get the plant and botany basics you need to identify plants at The Morton Arboretum. Dates and times vary starting Tuesday July 5. Multiple sections.

Family Explorers Backpack

Rent a self-guided family backpack that will enhance your visit to The Morton Arboretum. Daily, April-October, 2016, 10:00 a.m.-4:00 p.m.

Busy Bees 18-35 months

We’ll appeal to every sense as we explore honeybees, their favorite flowers, and honey in this sensory based program at The Morton Arboretum. Wednesday, July 13, Thursday, July 14 or Tuesday, July 19, 2016, 9:30 to 10:45 a.m.