Class listings

Spend less time in the yard by learning which plants require little time and effort at The Morton Arboretum. Thursday, March 23, 2017, 6:00 to 9:00 p.m.
Turn your front and back yard into an edible landscape that is beautiful and productive using the design principles of permaculture at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, March 25, 2017, 9:30 a.m. to noon
Bring life and interest to even the shadiest parts of your landscape at The Morton Arboretum. Wednesday, March 29, 2017, 6:00 to 9:00 p.m
Hear the fascinating history of Chicago’s parks from author and historian Julia S. Bachrach at The Morton Arboretum. (Sold Out) Thursday, March 30, 2017, 7:00 to 8:30 p.m.
Learn the ins and outs of sharpening garden tools and bring a tool of your own to sharpen at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, March 11, 10:00 a.m. to noon, or Friday, March 31, 1:00 to 3:00 p.m.
Learn to grow heirloom apples in backyards and urban environments with the preeminent heirloom expert, Dan Bussey at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, April 1, 2017, 9:30 a.m. to noon
Learn the art of bonsai during this six-week hands-on course at The Morton Arboretum. Six Saturdays, April 1, 8, (no class on April 15) 22, 29, May 6, and 13, 2017, 1:00 to 4:00 p.m.
For those with considerable familiarity and experience with the fundamentals of bonsai, take your practice to the next step at The Morton Arboretum. Six Saturdays, April 1, 8, (no class on April 15) 22, 29, May 6, and 13, 2017, 9:00 a.m. to noon
Discover the basics of backyard composting and composting with worms at The Morton Arboretum. Wednesday, April 5, 2017, 7:00 to 9:00 p.m.
Design an outstanding spring container with hardy plants that will bring color to your patio at The Morton Arboretum. Thursday, April 6, 2017, 6:30 to 8:30 p.m. or Saturday, April 8, 2017, 1:30 to 3:30 p.m.