Logo

Class listings

Conservation and restoration, Adult programs

Openlands TreeKeepers®

Learn to identify, plant, care for and prune trees in hands on classes with regional professionals at The Morton Arboretum. 4 Tuesdays, September 15-October 6,2015, 6:30-9:00 p.m., and 4 Saturdays, September 19-October 10, 2015, 9:00 a.m.-12:30 p.m.

Grass Identification and Ecology

Learn to identify the grasses that add beauty and interest to the summer and fall landscape at The Morton Arboretum. Thursday, September 17 and Friday, September 18, 9:00 a.m.-4:00 p.m.

Chicago Wilderness Burn Crew Training

Chicago Wilderness will offer two fall sessions of the Midwest Ecological Prescription Burn Crew Member Training class at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, September 12-Sunday, September 13, 8:00-3:00 p.m. or Thursday, September 17-Friday, September 18, 8:00-3:00 p.m.

Local Flora: Fall

Learn the names and characteristics of native and introduced plants flowering in the woodlands, prairies, wetlands, and other areas of the Arboretum during this program. 4 Saturdays, September 19-October 10, 2015, 8:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m.

History of Oaks in Northern Illinois

Learn why oaks are critical to healthy woodlands and what makes them a “keystone” species at The Morton Arboretum. Sunday, September 20, 2015, 1:00-4:00 p.m.

Off-Trail Nature Explorations

Discover strategies and tools for observing and enjoying nature in the woodlands and prairie at The Morton Arboretum. Sunday, September 20, 1:00-4:00 p.m. or Sunday, October 18, 2015, 10:00 a.m.-1:00 p.m.

Tree ID and Ecology

Learn to identify the trees you see every day in the woodlands and neighborhoods of the Chicago region as you enjoy their brilliant fall colors at The Morton Arboretum. 4 Saturdays, September 26-October 17, 2015, 1:00 –5:00 p.m.

Tree Walk: The Heritage Trail

Explore the landscape and history of the east woods during our tree walk at The Morton Arboretum. Wednesday, September 30, 3:00-4:00 p.m. or Saturday, October 3, 2015, 1:00-2:00 p.m.

Intro to Natural Areas Management

Learn principles and practices for managing critical habitats at The Morton Arboretum. Thursday, October 8, 6:00-9:00 p.m.; Sunday, October 11, 1:00-5:00 p.m.; Saturday, October 17, 2015, 10:00 a.m.-3:00 p.m.

Nature at Night

Discover what happens at the Arboretum at night when no one is around. Thursday, October 8, Wednesday, October 28 or Thursday November 5, 2015, 6:30-8:00 p.m.