Class listings

Get the botany basics you need to identify plants at The Morton Arboretum. Online only begins: June 1, or August 3, 2018. In-person only: Saturday, September 8, 10:00 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.
This is the story of an artist's love affair with a piece of land, and the birds, animals, and plants that inhabit it. Join us at The Morton Arboretum on Friday June 8, 2018, 7:00 to 8:30 p.m.
Learn to effectively and efficiently use the tools of the trade to tackle different restoration jobs at The Morton Arboretum. Dates and times vary starting June 4, September 11 or November 6, 2018.
Learn how to tell invasive aquatic plants apart from native look-alikes and how to report invaders when you find them in this one-day workshop at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday June 30, 2018, 12:30 to 4:30 p.m.
Learn the names and ecology of the wildflowers, sedges, rushes, and other plants that inhabit wetlands at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, June 23, 2018, 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m., or Sunday, July 1, 2018, 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Discover the principles and practice of ecosystem restoration at The Morton Arboretum. Online component begins: Friday, July 6, or Friday, October 26, 2018. In person component: Two Saturdays, July 14 and 21, or Two Saturdays, Nov 3 and 10, 2018, 9:00 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.
Learn the identification skills to manage, restore, or simply enjoy prairie habitats at The Morton Arboretum. Three Thursdays, July 12 through July 26, 2018, 6:00 to 8:00 p.m.
We are confronted with a vast amount of information every day, and it can be difficult to find trusted and credible sources of expertise. This hands-on workshop will teach you how to identify the “symptoms” of a less-than-credible source and what questions to ask yourself as you’re looking for good advice on the internet (and beyond) to answer questions about trees, plants, and the environment. Thursday, July 26, or Saturday, September 29, 2018, 10:30 a.m. to noon.
Learn the essentials of wetland ecology and the vital management techniques necessary to maintain threatened wetland ecosystems at The Morton Arboretum. Two days: Wednesday, August 1, 6:30 to 8:30 p.m., and Saturday, August 4, 2018 8:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.
Learn to identify dragonflies and damselflies on the grounds of the Arboretum. Friday, August 3, 8:00 to 11:00 a.m.

Page controls