The Morton Arboretum logo

Class listings

Conservation and Restoration

Intro to Ecological Restoration (online and in person)

Discover the principles and practice of ecosystem restoration at The Morton Arboretum. Two Wednesdays, July 6 and 13, 2016, 6:30 to 8:30 p.m.

Invasive Species I: Online and in-person

Learn to identify and manage the most common invasive plants in the Great Lakes region at The Morton Arboretum. Online class component begins: begins Thursday, July 7, 2016, In-person component: Thursday, July 14, 2016, 6:00 to 9:00 p.m.

Wetland Ecology

Learn the essentials of wetland ecology and the vital management techniques necessary to maintain threatened wetland ecosystems at The Morton Arboretum. Wednesday, July 13, 6:30 to 8:30 p.m., and Saturday, July 16, 8:00 a.m. to noon.

Basic Plant ID (Online and in-person)

Get the plant and botany basics you need to identify plants at The Morton Arboretum. Dates and times vary starting Tuesday July 5. Multiple sections.

Prairie Plant ID

Learn the identification skills to manage, restore, or simply enjoy prairie habitats at The Morton Arboretum. Two Tuesdays, July 19 through 26, 2016, and Thursday, July 21, 2016, 6:30 to 8:30 p.m.

Invasive Species II - Online and in-person

Take your invasive species management skills to the next level, and learn to identify and manage the diverse invasive plant that threaten regional ecosystems at The Morton Arboretum. Online component begins:Thursday, July 21, 2016, In-person component: Thursday, July 28, 6:30 to 8:30 p.m. and Saturday, July 30, 8:30 to 11:30 a.m.

Natural Areas Management

Learn principles and practices for managing critical habitats at The Morton Arboretum. Thursday, September 8, 6:00 to 9:00 p.m., Sunday, September 11, 10:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m., and Saturday, September 17, 9:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.

Basic Plant ID (Online and in-person)

Get the plant and botany basics you need to identify plants at The Morton Arboretum. Dates and times vary starting Tuesday July 5. Multiple sections.

Openlands TreeKeepers at The Morton Arboretum

Learn to identify, plant, care for and prune trees in hands on classes with regional professionals at The Morton Arboretum. Eight days: Four Tuesdays, September 1​3​ through October ​4​, 6:30 to 9:00 p.m., and four Saturdays, September ​17​ through October​ 8​, 9:30 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.

Chicago Wilderness Burn Crew Training

Chicago Wilderness will offer two fall sessions of the Midwest Ecological Prescription Burn Crew Member Training class at The Morton Arboretum. Thursday, October 6, and Friday, October 7, 2016, 8:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m, or Saturday, October 8, and Sunday, October 9, 2016, 8:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.