Class listings

Revisit your favorite childhood books--and some unknown treasures--through a new lens with author, scholar, and dad, Liam Heneghan at The Morton Arboretum. Sunday, July 29, 1:00 to 2:30 p.m.
We are confronted with a vast amount of information every day, and it can be difficult to find trusted and credible sources of expertise. This hands-on workshop will teach you how to identify the “symptoms” of a less-than-credible source and what questions to ask yourself as you’re looking for good advice on the internet (and beyond) to answer questions about trees, plants, and the environment. Thursday, July 26, or Saturday, September 29, 2018, 10:30 a.m. to noon.
Please check our Calendar of events for more youth and family programs.
Learn the essentials of wetland ecology and the vital management techniques necessary to maintain threatened wetland ecosystems at The Morton Arboretum. Two days: Wednesday, August 1, 6:30 to 8:30 p.m., and Saturday, August 4, 2018 8:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.
Learn to identify dragonflies and damselflies on the grounds of the Arboretum. Friday, August 3, 8:00 to 11:00 a.m.
Learn to identify the trees you see every day in the woodlands and neighborhoods of the Chicago region at The Morton Arboretum. Online component begins: Friday, August 3, 2018. In-person component: Friday, August 10, or Saturday, August 11, 2018, 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
In this workshop the PSBS 2018 bonsai master, Frank Mihalic, will work with you on your own trees at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, August. 4, 2018, 9:00 a.m. to noon
Each day we will hike, read stories, and play in this 4–week sensory based outdoor adventure. Adults will also receive tips to continue exploration at home at The Morton Arboretum! Four Tuesdays, September 4 through 25, 2018, 9:30 to 10:45 a.m.
Join us for a FREE orientation program on the Woodland Stewardship Program at the Morton Arboretum. Thursday, August 2, 2018, 6:30 to 8:00 p.m., or Saturday, October 13, 2018, 1:30-3:00 p.m., or online only.
This workshop is for up to 10 students from beginner to intermediate skill level at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, August 4, 2018, 9:00 a.m. to noon.

Page controls