The Morton Arboretum logo

Class listings

Trees and Ecology

Learn the names and ecology of the wildflowers that cover the woodland floor in spring at The Morton Arboretum. Online component begins: Thursday, April 28, 2017, In person component: Saturday, May 6, 2017, 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Wander through the ever-changing array of blooms in our woodlands to learn how to identify wildflowers such as trillium, mayapple, and dog-tooth violet and hear about their folklore at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, April 22, Wednesday, April 26, or Saturday. May 6, 2017, 9:30 a.m. to noon
Discover what happens at the Arboretum at night, when no one is around. Wednesday, May 10; Thursday, May 11; Friday, June 9; or Saturday, June 10, 2017, 7:30 to 9:30 p.m.
Learn to identify spring prairie plants in their early stages of development at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, May 13, 2017, 1:00 to 4:00 p.m.
Get the botany basics you need to identify plants at The Morton Arboretum. Online component begins: Thursday, May 4, 2017, In person component: Saturday, May 13, 2017, 9:00 to 11:00 a.m.
Experience the healing and wellness promoting effects of Shinrin-Yoku, the practice of bathing the senses in the atmosphere of the forest at The Morton Arboretum. Dates and times vary starting Saturdays, April 8, 2017. Multiple sections.
Learn about the New Invaders Watch Program and how to get involved in monitoring and reporting invasive plants that are new to our region at The Morton Arboretum.Thursday, Wednesday, May 17, 2017, 6:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.
Enjoy the unique sights and sounds of a spring evening at The Morton Arboretum. Friday, May 19 or Saturday, June 3, 2017, 7:00 to 8:30 p.m.
Study the characteristics, behavior, and significance of birds as you earn your merit badge at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, May 20, 2017, 10:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.
Study the sights and signs of spring as they emerge at The Morton Arboretum. Three Saturdays, May 20 through June 3, 2017, 9:00 a.m. to noon