Class listings

Join us for a FREE orientation program on the Natural Areas Conservation Training Program Orientation (formally the Woodland Stewardship Program) at the Morton Arboretum. (Registration opens November 20, 2019) In-Person. Tuesday, January 22, 2019, 6:30 to 8:00 p.m. Thornhill Education Center.
Learn to save your own seeds in this hands-on workshop at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, January 26, 2019, 9:00 to 11:00 a.m.
Browse a selection of seeds, and take home a variety to plant this spring. Bring your leftover seed packets or self-saved seeds to share. Saturday, January 26, 2019, 11:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.
Learn the essentials of woodland ecology and the woodland management techniques necessary to maintain threatened woodland ecosystems at The Morton Arboretum. Online component begins: Wednesday, November 28, 2018 (open for registration). Online component begins: Tuesday, January 29, 2019.
Strengthen your skills leading volunteers in natural areas management with this interactive primer for volunteer stewardship activity planning, group dynamics, safety, and volunteer empowerment at The Morton Arboretum. (Registration opens November 20, 2019) Online component begins: Thursday, January 31, 2019. In-person component: Saturday, February 9, 2019, 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Learn to identify trees after they shed their leaves for the winter. Develop the skills to identify winter trees on your own using clues found in buds, fruits, leaf scars, bark, and branching patterns at The Morton Arboretum. Dates and times vary starting January 10, 2019.
Meet the animals that prowl our woods and ponds all winter long at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, January 26, or February 9, 2019, 9:00 to 11:30 a.m.
Chicago Wilderness will offer three winter sessions of the Midwest Ecological Prescription Burn Crew Member Training class at The Morton Arboretum. Two days: Thursday, January 31, and Friday, February 1, 2019, 8:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.; or Thursday, February 14, and Friday, February 15, 2019, 8:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.; or Saturday, February 16, and Sunday, February 17, 2019, 8:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.
Learn to identify and manage the most common invasive plants in the Great Lakes region at The Morton Arboretum. Online class begins: Wednesday, February 20, 2019 (registration opens November 20, 2019).
What’s so “hot” about soil ecology? Grab a grown-up hot chocolate and get “the dirt” on soils from Arboretum soil ecologist Meghan Midgley. Thursday, February 21, 2019, 7:00 p.m. to 8:30 p.m.

Page controls