The Morton Arboretum logo

Class listings

Lifelong Learning

Looking to grow your best garden yet at The Morton Arboretum? Saturday, March 11, 2017, 9:30 a.m. to noon
Discover what happens at the Arboretum at night when no one is around. (Sold Out) Thursday, January 12, Saturday, February 11, or Sunday, March 12, 2017, 6:30 to 8:00 p.m.
Explore the nature of color and how colors impact each other and the viewer at The Morton Arboretum. Four Wednesdays, March 15 through April 12 (No class on March 29), 2017, 6:30 to 9:30 p.m.
Local organic gardener Jeanne Nolan shares her favorite vegetable crops proven to thrive in Chicagoland and how to best plant, manage, and harvest them throughout the season utilizing organic practices at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, March 18, 2017, 9:30 a.m. to noon
Learn spring methods for propagating your favorite native plants. Learn how to bring seeds out of stratification, plant in seed trays and transplant seedlings at The Morton Arbortum. Sunday, March 19, 2017, 12:30 to 3:30 p.m.
Altering books is the process of recycling books for another purpose using gesso, pasting, cutting and image altering at The Morton Arboretum. Sunday, March 19, 2017, 11:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Spend less time in the yard by learning which plants require little time and effort at The Morton Arboretum. Thursday, March 23, 2017, 6:00 to 9:00 p.m.
Turn your front and back yard into an edible landscape that is beautiful and productive using the design principles of permaculture at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, March 25, 2017, 9:30 a.m. to noon
Bring life and interest to even the shadiest parts of your landscape at The Morton Arboretum. Wednesday, March 29, 2017, 6:00 to 9:00 p.m
Hear the fascinating history of Chicago’s parks from author and historian Julia S. Bachrach at The Morton Arboretum. Thursday, March 30, 2017, 7:00 to 8:30 p.m.