The Morton Arboretum logo

Class listings

Lifelong Learning, Trees and Ecology

Learn to identify common trees that are highlights of the winter landscape at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, February 11, 2017, 9:00 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.
Discover how the struggle to survive the cold shapes the interactions of plants and animals in Midwestern habitats at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, January 28, or Saturday, February 11, 2017, 9:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.
Meet the animals that prowl our woods and ponds all winter long at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, January 21, 2017, or Sunday, February 12, 2017, 9:30 to 11:30 a.m.
Learn about hummingbirds, the “acrobats of the air,” with expert global birder Denis Kania at The Morton Arboretum. Wednesday, February 22, 2017, 7:00 to 9:00 p.m.
Learn to identify trees without their leaves. Explore the winter identification of trees at the Arboretum and develop the skills to identify trees on your own using clues found in buds, fruits, leaf scars, bark, and branching patterns of winter trees. Five Sundays, January 22 through February 19, 2017, 1:00 to 4:00 p.m. Sign up for each day a la carte or take all five sessions for a complete introduction to winter trees.
Discover the beauty of winter trees and learn their identification at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, January 28, 2017, 9:00 to 11:30 a.m.or Friday, February 24, 2017, 10:00 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.
Learn to identify plants without leaves or flowers at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, March 4, 2017, 8:00 a.m. to noon
Discover what happens at the Arboretum at night when no one is around. Thursday, January 12, Saturday, February 11, or Sunday, March 12, 2017, 6:30 to 8:00 p.m.
Learn spring methods for propagating your favorite native plants. Learn how to bring seeds out of stratification, plant in seed trays and transplant seedlings at The Morton Arbortum. Sunday, March 19, 2017, 12:30 to 3:30 p.m.
In this single morning workshop for beginners, learn how to find birds, discuss equipment, what to wear, keeping track of your observations, and more at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, April 1, 2017, 9:00 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.