search

Conservation and Restoration

  • Learn to identify the trees you see every day in the woodlands and neighborhoods of the Chicago region at The Morton Arboretum. Online component begins: Thursday, September 14, 2017, In-person component: Saturday, September 23, 2017, 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
  • Learn to save your own seeds in this hands-on workshop at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, September 30, 2017, 9:30 a.m. to noon
  • Join us for a FREE orientation program on the Woodland Stewardship Program at the Morton Arboretum. In-person: Thursday, August 24, or Tuesday October 17, 2017 6:30 to 8:00 p.m. Online anytime.
  • Learn to identify and manage the most common invasive plants in the Great Lakes region at The Morton Arboretum. Online component begins: Friday, October 6, 2017, In-person component: Saturday, October 14, 2017, 9:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.
  • Chicago Wilderness will offer two fall sessions of the Midwest Ecological Prescription Burn Crew Member Training class at The Morton Arboretum. Two days: Saturday, September 30, and Sunday, October 1, or Thursday, October 12, and Friday, October 13, 2017, 8:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.
  • Discover the principles and practice of ecosystem restoration at The Morton Arboretum .Online component begins: Friday, October 20, 2017, In person component: Two Saturdays, October 28 and November 11, 2017, 9:00 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.
  • Learn how and when to collect seeds from your favorite native plants at The Morton Arboretum. Sunday, October 22, 2017, 9:00 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.
  • Get the botany basics you need to identify plants at The Morton Arboretum. Online components start Thursday, August 31 or Friday, October 20, 2017. Multiple sections.
  • Learn to effectively and efficiently use the tools of the trade to tackle different restoration jobs at The Morton Arboretum. Dates vary with online component starting Tuesday September 5, or Tuesday November 7, 2017. Multiply sections.
  • Identify and apply short and long term restoration activities to enhance wildlife habitat at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, November 18, 2017, 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.