Conservation and Restoration

  • Join us for a FREE orientation program on the new format for the Woodland Stewardship Program, including classes with online and in-person components at The Morton Arboretum. Online only. Registration closes 11:59 p.m. Thursday, June 1, 2017, Online session begins: Friday, June 2, 2017
  • Join the Natural Resources staff at The Morton Arboretum and other natural resource volunteers for a guided tour of the expansive Nachusa Grasslands. Wednesday, June 15, 2017, 7:30 a.m. to 6:30 p.m.
  • Learn to identify the sedges, a diverse and ecologically important group of plants at The Morton Arboretum. Two days: Wednesday, June 21 and Thursday, June 22, 2017, 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
  • Learn identification and ecology of the fish, turtles, and crayfish found in the rivers of northern Illinois at The Morton Arboretum. Thursday, June 22, 2017, 6:30 to 9:30 p.m.
  • Learn the names and ecology of the wildflowers, sedges, rushes, and other plants that inhabit wetlands at The Morton Arboretum. Sold out, please call 630-719-2468 to be wait listed. Saturday, June 24 2017, 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
  • Join us for a FREE orientation program on the Woodland Stewardship Program at the Morton Arboretum. Thursday, August 24, 2017 6:30 to 8:00 p.m. or online.
  • Learn how to tell invasive aquatic plants apart from native look-alikes and how to report invaders when you find them in this one-day workshop at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday July 8, 2017, 12:30 to 4:30 p.m.
  • Learn the essentials of wetland ecology and the vital management techniques necessary to maintain threatened wetland ecosystems at The Morton Arboretum. Two days: Wednesday, July 12, 6:30 to 8:30 p.m., and Saturday, July 15, 8:00 a.m. to noon
  • Discover the principles and practice of ecosystem restoration at The Morton Arboretum. Online component begins: Wednesday, July 12, 2017, In person component: Two Wednesdays, July 19 and Aug 2, 2017, 6:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m.
  • Join us for a FREE orientation program on the Woodland Stewardship Program at the Morton Arboretum. Thursday, August 24, 2017 6:30 to 8:00 p.m. or online.
  • Learn to effectively and efficiently use the tools of the trade to tackle different restoration jobs at The Morton Arboretum. Dates vary with online component starting Tuesday August 1, or Wednesday September 6, 2017.
  • Learn principles and practices for managing critical habitats at The Morton Arboretum. Online component begins Monday, August 21, 2017. In person sessions: Sunday, August 27 and Saturday, September 9, 2017, 10:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.
  • Learn to identify the grasses that add beauty and interest to the summer and fall landscape at The Morton Arboretum. Tuesday, September 5, and Wednesday, September 6, 2017, 9:00 a.m.to 4:00 p.m.
  • Expand your grass identification skills in this expert workshop at The Morton Arboretum. Thursday, September 7, and Friday, September 8, 2017, 9:00 a.m.to 4:00 p.m.
  • Learn how and why to save your own seeds at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, September 30, 2017, 9:30 a.m. to noon