search

Woodland Stewardship Program

Woodland Stewardship Program

Open to current Arboretum Natural Resources volunteers only. Join the Natural Resources staff at The Morton Arboretum and other natural resource volunteers for a guided tour of the expansive Nachusa Grasslands. Thursday, June 15, 2017, 7:30 a.m. to 6:30 p.m.
Ron Nosek of Nature Education Programs brings his What 2 Know B4 You GoTM program to The Morton Arboretum this summer. Saturday, July 15, 2017, 9:00 to noon
Expand your grass identification skills in this expert workshop at The Morton Arboretum. Thursday, September 7, and Friday, September 8, 2017, 9:00 a.m.to 4:00 p.m.
Learn how to tell invasive aquatic plants apart from native look-alikes and how to report invaders when you find them in this one-day workshop at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday (SOLD OUT) July 8, 2017, 12:30 to 4:30 p.m.
Explore the hidden structure behind ecosystem function and lay the foundation to improve your understanding of the biological systems we manage at The Morton Arboretum. Online component begins: April 3, 2017, In person component: Sunday April 9, 2017, 1:00 to 5:00 p.m.
Learn identification and ecology of the fish, turtles, and crayfish found in the rivers of northern Illinois at The Morton Arboretum. Thursday, June 22, 2017, 6:30 to 9:30 p.m.
Strengthen your skills leading volunteers in natural areas management with this interactive primer for volunteer stewardship activity planning, group dynamics, safety, and volunteer empowerment at The Morton Arboretum. Online component begins: Friday, Aug 11, 2017 In person component: Saturday, Aug 19, 2017, 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Learn to identify the trees you see every day in the woodlands and neighborhoods of the Chicago region as you enjoy their brilliant fall colors at The Morton Arboretum. Online component begins: Thursday, September 14, 2017 In-person component: Saturday, September 23, 2017, 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Learn to effectively and efficiently use the tools of the trade to tackle different restoration jobs at The Morton Arboretum. Dates vary with online component starting Tuesday August 1, or Wednesday September 6, 2017.
Discover the principles and practice of ecosystem restoration at The Morton Arboretum. Online component begins: Wednesday, July 12, 2017, In person component: Two Wednesdays, July 19 and Aug 2, 2017, 6:00 p.m. to 8:30 p.m.

Pages