Trees and Ecology

Natural history

Enjoy the fall warbler migration while learning a methodical approach to dealing with fall plumages, arrival dates, migration patterns, habitat preferences, and alternate feeding approaches at the Morton Arboretum. Tuesday, September 13, 6:30 to 8:30 p.m. and Saturday, September 17, 2016, 8:00 a.m. to noon
The Chicago Region Trees Initiative has developed a full day, hands on training event for non-forestry professionals who work with trees. Tuesday, April 11, 2017, 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. Park Forest Village Hall
Wander through the ever-changing array of blooms in our woodlands and prairie to learn how to identify wildflowers such as trillium, mayapple, and dog-tooth violet and hear about their folklore at The Morton Arboretum. Thursday, April 19, Saturday, April 28, or Friday, May 4, 2018, 8:30 to 11:00 a.m.
After dark, the wild things come alive! Hoots, howls, and rustling in the bushes--what’s behind the sounds that frighten or intrigue us on our evenings out at The Morton Arboretum. Two Tuesdays, May 1 and 8, 2018, 6:30 to 9:30 p.m.
Get the botany basics you need to identify plants at The Morton Arboretum. New Online section added: Registration closes at 11:59 p.m., Wednesday, March 14, 2018. Online component begins: Thursday, March 15, 2018. Winter sessions start Sunday, May 6 for In-person only or Friday, June 1 for online only section.
Learn the names and ecology of the wildflowers that cover the woodland floor in spring at The Morton Arboretum. Online component begins: Friday, April 20, 2018 In person component: Friday, May 4 or Saturday, May 5, 2018, 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Discover the principles and practice of ecosystem restoration at The Morton Arboretum. Online component begins: Monday, April 9, 2018. In person component: Two Saturdays, April 14 and April 21, 2018, 9:00 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.
(SOLD OUT) Learn spring methods for propagating your favorite native plants at The Morton Arboretum.Sunday, March 18, 2018, 12:30 to 3:30 p.m. New section added for 8:30 to 11:30 a.m.
Learn about the New Invaders Watch Program and how to get involved in monitoring and reporting invasive plants that are new to our region at The Morton Arboretum. Wednesday, May 2, 2018, 6:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.
Earn your Plant Science Merit Badge at The Morton Arboretum while discovering the wonderful world of botany. (CANCELED) Two Sundays, April 15 and May 20, 2018, 10:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.

Page controls