Trees and Ecology

Natural history

Wander through the ever-changing array of blooms in our woodlands to learn how to identify wildflowers such as trillium, mayapple, and dog-tooth violet and hear about their folklore at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, April 22, Wednesday, April 26, or Saturday. May 6, 2017, 9:30 a.m. to noon
Get the botany basics you need to identify plants at The Morton Arboretum. Online component begins: Thursday, May 4, 2017, In person component: Saturday, May 13, 2017, 9:00 to 11:00 a.m.
Learn the names and ecology of the wildflowers that cover the woodland floor in spring at The Morton Arboretum. Online component begins: Thursday, April 27, 2017, In person component: Saturday, May 6, 2017, 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Learn spring methods for propagating your favorite native plants. Learn how to bring seeds out of stratification, plant in seed trays and transplant seedlings at The Morton Arbortum. Sunday, March 19, 2017, 12:30 to 3:30 p.m.
Learn about the New Invaders Watch Program and how to get involved in monitoring and reporting invasive plants that are new to our region at The Morton Arboretum.Thursday, Wednesday, May 17, 2017, 6:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.
Join us for a FREE orientation program on the new format for the Woodland Stewardship Program, including classes with online and in-person components at The Morton Arboretum. Online only. Registration closes 11:59 p.m. Thursday, June 1, 2017, Online session begins: Friday, June 2, 2017
Earn your Plant Science Merit Badge at The Morton Arboretum while discovering the wonderful world of botany. (Canceled) Two Sundays, April 9 and May 7, 2017, 10:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.
In this intensive workshop, enjoy the spring warbler migration while learning about identification, arrival dates, migration patterns, habitat preferences, and daily feeding techniques at The Morton Arboretum. Wednesday, May 3, 2017, 6:30 to 8:30 p.m., and Sunday, May 7, 2017, 8:00 a.m. to noon
Learn how to identify Illinois' spring resident and migratory birds by sight and call and meet other birders at The Morton arboretum. (Sold Out) Five Sundays, April 9, 23, 30, May 14, and 21 , 2017, 8:00 a.m. to 11:30 a.m. (no class April 16 or May 7)
Who is really in charge of defending the Earth? Become an environmental scientist as you track pollution, analyze water and soil samples, monitor insect life, and learn what you can do to save the planet at The Morton Arboretum. Monday through Friday, June 5 through 9 or June 26 through 30, or August 7 through 11, 2017, 9:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.

Pages