Trees and Ecology

Natural history

Strap on your running shoes for an informative running tour of the Arboretum. Saturday, March 24, 2018, 8:00 to 9:30 a.m.
Learn the geologic history of the Midwest as we cycle the the roads of the Arboretum. Friday, July 13, or July 27, 2018, 6:00 to 8:00 p.m.
Join us for a full-day training for landscapers, streets and sanitation technicians, and public works crews that will cover selection, planting, and care of trees in sessions led by local experts. Wednesday, April 4, 2018, 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m., and/or Thursday, April 5, 2018, 9:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.
Learn the essentials of wetland ecology and the vital management techniques necessary to maintain threatened wetland ecosystems at The Morton Arboretum. Two days: Wednesday, August 1, 6:30 to 8:30 p.m., and Saturday, August 4, 2018 8:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.
Learn principles and practices for managing critical habitats at The Morton Arboretum. Online component begins Friday, August 10, 2018. In person sessions: Two days: Sunday, August 19 and Saturday, August 25, 2018, 9:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.
Learn the names and ecology of the wildflowers, sedges, rushes, and other plants that inhabit wetlands at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, June 23, 2018, 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m., or Sunday, July 1, 2018, 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Join us for a fun-filled adventure after hours at The Morton Arboretum to explore the night's theme with a tram ride, activities, and a hike. Fridays, June 1; July 13; August 31; or September 7, or Saturdays, May 26; June 16; July 28; August 11; or September 15, 2018, 7:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m.
Enjoy autumn’s amazing birding as you learn to identify the migratory birds filling the air at The Morton Arboretum. Four Sundays, September 9 through 30, 2018, 8:00 to 12:30 p.m.
Join us for a camp-out designed especially for scouts at The Morton Arboretum. Friday, August 24 through Saturday August 25, 2018, 6:30 p.m. to 9:00 a.m.
Learn to identify the grasses that add beauty and interest to the summer and fall landscape at The Morton Arboretum. Two days: Thursday, September 13, and Friday, September 14, 2018, 9:00 a.m.to 4:00 p.m.

Page controls