search

Trees and Ecology

Natural history

Strap on your running shoes for an informative running tour of the Arboretum. Select Saturdays, April 8, 8:00 to 9:30 a.m., May 13, 8:00 to 10:00 a.m., or June 3, 8:00 to 9:30 a.m.
Learn the geologic history of the Midwest as we cycle the the roads of the Arboretum. Saturday, April 8, 2017, 1:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m. (rain date April 22)
Learn the essentials of wetland ecology and the vital management techniques necessary to maintain threatened wetland ecosystems at The Morton Arboretum. Two days: Wednesday, July 12, 6:30 to 8:30 p.m., and Saturday, July 15, 8:00 a.m. to noon
Learn principles and practices for managing critical habitats at The Morton Arboretum. Online component begins Monday, August 21, 2017. In person sessions: Sunday, August 27 and Saturday, September 9, 2017, 10:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.
Learn the names and ecology of the wildflowers, sedges, rushes, and other plants that inhabit wetlands at The Morton Arboretum. Sold out, please call 630-719-2468 to be wait listed. Saturday, June 24 2017, 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Join us for a fun-filled adventure after hours at the Arboretum to explore the night's theme with a tram ride, activities, and a hike. Fridays, July 14, August 25 or September 8, 2017, 7:00 to 9:00 p.m. or Saturdays, July 29, August 19 or September 16, 2017, 7:00 to 9:00 p.m.
Enjoy autumn’s amazing birding as you learn to identify the migratory birds filling the air at The Morton Arboretum. Four Sundays, August 27, September 10, 24, and October 1, 2017 (No class September 3 or 17), 8:00 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.
Join us for a camp-out designed especially for scouts at The Morton Arboretum. Friday, August 25 through Saturday August 26, 2017, 6:30 p.m. to 9:00 a.m.
Learn to identify the grasses that add beauty and interest to the summer and fall landscape at The Morton Arboretum. Tuesday, September 5, and Wednesday, September 6, 2017, 9:00 a.m.to 4:00 p.m.
Learn to identify the trees you see every day in the woodlands and neighborhoods of the Chicago region at The Morton Arboretum. Friday, August 25, 2017, 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Pages