The Morton Arboretum logo

Trees and Ecology

Natural history

Discover what happens at the Arboretum at night when no one is around. Thursday, January 12, Saturday, February 11, or Sunday, March 12, 2017, 6:30 to 8:00 p.m.
Discover how the struggle to survive the cold shapes the interactions of plants and animals in Midwestern habitats at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, January 28, or Saturday, February 11, 2017, 9:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.
Meet the animals that prowl our woods and ponds all winter long at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, January 21, 2017, or Sunday, February 12, 2017, 9:30 to 11:30 a.m.
Learn to identify trees without their leaves. Explore the winter identification of trees at the Arboretum and develop the skills to identify trees on your own using clues found in buds, fruits, leaf scars, bark, and branching patterns of winter trees. Five Sundays, January 22 through February 19, 2017, 1:00 to 4:00 p.m. Sign up for each day a la carte or take all five sessions for a complete introduction to winter trees.
Discover the beauty of winter trees and learn their identification at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, January 28, 2017, 9:00 to 11:30 a.m.or Friday, February 24, 2017, 10:00 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.
Explore the world of plants by learning how leaves, flowers, fruit, seeds, and roots relate to water, light, nutrients, and reproduction at The Morton Arboretum. Five Thursdays, January 19 through February 16, 2017, 6:30 to 9:30 p.m.
Explore the geology at The Morton Arboretum while earning your merit badge. Use a topographic map to determine elevation. Sunday, February 19, 2017, 10:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.
Earn your merit badge at The Morton Arboretum and learn about the amazing way of life and history of the Pottawatomie people who once lived in Illinois. Sunday, January 29, 2017, 10:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.
Take a guided hike to learn the history of maple tapping and see how it’s done at The Morton Arboretum! Saturday, March 18, or Sunday, March 19, 2017, Multiple start times 10:00 a.m. to noon.
Learn about birds and decorate a wooden birdhouse to take home at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, February 25, 10:00 to 11:30 a.m., or 2:00 to 3:30 p.m.

Pages