search

Trees and Ecology

Natural history

Learn the essentials of woodland ecology and the woodland management techniques necessary to maintain threatened woodland ecosystems at The Morton Arboretum. Thursday, November 16, 2017
Take a winter walk, find out what sweet treats grow on trees, then decorate a keepsake, light-up, chipboard gingerbread house with natural materials to take home at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, November 18, 2017, 10:00 a.m. to 11:30 p.m., or 2:00 to 3:30 p.m.
Discover how bats and bugs are connected, and become a bat for a day at The Morton Arboretum! Thursday, October 5, Tuesday, October 10, or Wednesday, October 11, 2017, 9:30 to 11:00 a.m.
Discover how bats and bugs are connected, and become a bat for a day at The Morton Arboretum! Wednesday, October 4, or Thursday, October 12, 2017, 9:30 to 10:45 a.m.
Feel the burn as you workout with the Midewin Hotshots, a wildland fire-fighting crew. Can you hang with the hotshots? (CANCELED) Saturday, October 14, 2017, 11:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.
Join writer and naturalist Cindy Crosby to hear stories of how wildflowers have changed human history: through literature, art, medicine, as love charms, and more at The Morton Arboretum! Saturday, December 2, 2017, 1:30 to 3:30 p.m.
Opt outside this Black Friday with a peaceful hike along the Arboretum’s quietest trails. Friday, November 24, 2017, 8:00 to 10:00 a.m.
Dig up some dirt, roll over rotting logs, poke at creepy crawlers, and find out how it all serves as the foundation for the woodland ecosystem at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, November 11, 2017, 9:00 a.m. to noon
What does it take to fight wildfires? Get a boots-on-the-ground perspective from Midewin hotshots at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, October 14, 2017, 1:00 to 2:30 p.m.
As a steward, site manager, naturalist, or other natural resource leader, you may find giving talks and guided walks to the public is a daunting task! Polish your public speaking skills and gain confidence in working with people -- especially the difficult ones -- as you gain tips and tricks for strengthening your tours and hikes at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, October 28, 2017, 8:00 a.m. to noon

Pages