The Morton Arboretum logo

Trees and Ecology

Natural history

Experience the healing and wellness promoting effects of Shinrin-Yoku, the practice of bathing the senses in the atmosphere of the forest. Take a slow and mindful walk with a certified Forest Therapy guide on a trail at the Morton Arboretum as you awaken your senses and reconnect with nature. Select Wednesdays, June 14 through July 26, 6:30 p.m. to 7:30 p.m.
Celebrate Earth Day with tea and sweet treats, then plant and decorate your own tea cup planter to take home. Saturday, April 22, 2017, 10:00 a.m. to 11:30 a.m. or 12:30 p.m. to 2:00 p.m.
Enjoy stories, crafts, muddy games and play in this squishy, squashy, sensory-based program at The Morton Arboretum. Tuesday, June 6, Wednesday, June 7 or Thursday, June 15, 2017, 9:30 a.m. to 11:00 a.m.
Enjoy stories, crafts, muddy games and play in this squishy, squashy, sensory-based program at The Morton Arboretum. Thursday, June 8, Tuesday, June 13 or Wednesday, June 14, 2017, 9:30 a.m. to 10:45 a.m.
Learn to identify and manage the most common invasive plants in the Great Lakes region at The Morton Arboretum. Online component begins: Thursday, May 18, 2017, In-person component: Thursday, May 25, 2017, 6:00 to 9:00 p.m.
View the variety of wading birds that nest at Lake Renwick Heron Rookery Nature Preserve, located just east of the town of Plainfield in northern Will County. Saturday, June 3, 2017, 9:00 a.m. to noon
Celebrate spring by searching the Arboretum grounds for nature’s brightly colored pageant of spring birds. Saturdays, April 15, May 20, or June 17, 2017, 8:00 to 10:30 a.m.
Save the date! Join us at The Morton Arboretum on June 3rd, 2017, as we explore the many benefits of nature-based early childhood education.
Discover the amazing world of magnolias and find new trees for your landscape at The Morton Arboretum! Saturday, April 15, 2017, 9:00 to 11:30 a.m.
Learn identification and ecology of the fish, turtles, and crayfish found in the rivers of northern Illinois at The Morton Arboretum. Thursday, June 22, 2017, 6:30 to 9:30 p.m.

Pages