Professional Development

Professional development

Learn the names and ecology of the wildflowers, sedges, rushes, and other plants that inhabit wetlands at The Morton Arboretum. This class will be offered again in June 2018. Registration will open Tuesday, February 20, 2018.
Learn to identify the grasses that add beauty and interest to the summer and fall landscape at The Morton Arboretum. Tuesday, September 5, and Wednesday, September 6, 2017, 9:00 a.m.to 4:00 p.m.
The Chicago Region Trees Initiative has developed a full day, hands on training event for non-forestry professionals who work with trees. Tuesday, April 11, 2017, 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. Park Forest Village Hall
Practice correct pruning techniques and learn which plants to prune now and more importantly, which to prune later at The Morton Arboretum. Online component available beginning January 11, or February 1. In-person component occurs, January 19, 2018, or Saturday, February 10, 2018, 9:00 to 11:00 a.m.
Learn to identify plants without leaves or flowers at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, March 3, 2018, 8:00 a.m. to noon.
Chicago Wilderness will offer three winter sessions of the Midwest Ecological Prescription Burn Crew Member Training class at The Morton Arboretum. Two days: Saturday, February 24, and Sunday, February 25; Thursday, March 1, and Friday, March 2; or Thursday, March 15, and Friday, March 16, 2018, 8:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.
Forest Therapy or Shinrin-Yoku combines traditional techniques of mindfulness with a unique approach to nature connection drawn from the latest medical research. You will learn skills that are applicable in any forest ecosystem and can be adapted to other natural settings and human-built environments such as city parks and at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, May 13 through Saturday, May 20, 2017, times vary (Some evening work, weather permitting.)

Pages