search

Professional Development

Professional development

Discover the amazing world of magnolias and find new trees for your landscape at The Morton Arboretum! Saturday, April 15, 2017, 9:00 to 11:30 a.m.
Learn identification and ecology of the fish, turtles, and crayfish found in the rivers of northern Illinois at The Morton Arboretum. Thursday, June 22, 2017, 6:30 to 9:30 p.m.
Study the ecology of mushrooms and other fungi with Patrick Leacock, mycologist and adjunct curator at the Field Museum. Learn about the biology and ecology of fungi and walk the trails at The Morton Arboretum to search for mushrooms. (Sold Out) Saturday, June 3, 2017, 9:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.
Study the sights and signs of spring as they emerge at The Morton Arboretum. (Canceled) Three Saturdays, May 20 through June 3, 2017, 9:00 a.m. to noon
Conference: Help curb the spread of problem plants escaping from cultivation at The Morton Arboretum. Thursday, November 10, 2016, 8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Join us for a full-day training for landscapers, streets and sanitation technicians, and public works crews that will cover selection, planting, and care of trees in sessions led by local experts. Wednesday September 27, 2017, 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. Optional day: Thursday, September 28, 9:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.
Learn the names and ecology of the wildflowers, sedges, rushes, and other plants that inhabit wetlands at The Morton Arboretum. This class will be offered again in June 2018. Registration will open Tuesday, February 20, 2018.
Learn to identify the grasses that add beauty and interest to the summer and fall landscape at The Morton Arboretum. Tuesday, September 5, and Wednesday, September 6, 2017, 9:00 a.m.to 4:00 p.m.
The Chicago Region Trees Initiative has developed a full day, hands on training event for non-forestry professionals who work with trees. Tuesday, April 11, 2017, 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. Park Forest Village Hall
Learn to identify plants without leaves or flowers at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, March 3, 2018, 8:00 a.m. to noon.

Pages