Logo

Professional development

Professional development

Chicago Wilderness Burn Crew Training

Chicago Wilderness will offer two fall sessions of the Midwest Ecological Prescription Burn Crew Member Training class at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, September 12-Sunday, September 13, 8:00-3:00 p.m. or Thursday, September 17-Friday, September 18, 8:00-3:00 p.m.

Intro to Natural Areas Management

Learn principles and practices for managing critical habitats at The Morton Arboretum. Thursday, October 8, 6:00-9:00 p.m.; Sunday, October 11, 1:00-5:00 p.m.; Saturday, October 17, 2015, 10:00 a.m.-3:00 p.m.

Sedge Identification Workshop-Sold Out

Learn to identify the sedges, a diverse and ecologically important group of plants at The Morton Arboretum. Thursday, June 25 and Friday, June 26, 2015, 9:00 a.m.-4:00 p.m.

Intro to Natural Areas Management

Learn principles and practices for managing critical habitats at The Morton Arboretum. Thursday, August 20, 2015, 6:00-9:00 p.m.; Sunday, August 23, 2015, 10:00 a.m.-2:00 p.m.; Saturday, August 29, 2015, 9:00 a.m.-2:00 p.m.

Field Ecology: Summer

Explore the natural world of Illinois in the summer session of Field Ecology at The Morton Arboretum. 2 Wednesdays, June 10-17, 2015, 7:00-9:00 p.m., and 2 Saturdays, June 13-20, 2015, 8:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m.

Advanced Invasive Plant Identification

Learn to identify invasive plants as they are emerging at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, July 11, 9:00 a.m.-1:00 p.m.

IOS 2015 Post-Conference Tour

This three day Post-Conference Tour for the 8th International Oak Society Conference takes place October 22-24, 2015 and will travel from Chicago through the Indiana Dunes and its national park to the southwest Michigan beach region.

IOS 2015 Pre-Conference Tour

This five-day Pre-Conference Tour for the 8th International Oak Society Conference takes place October 13-17, 2015 and will travel from St. Louis down through the Illinois Ozarks and then north to The Morton Arboretum.

8th International Oak Society Conference

The 8th International Oak Society Conference will take place October 18-21, 2015 at The Morton Arboretum near Chicago. Conference highlights will include presentations from many of the world’s leading oak researchers; opportunities to discuss and contribute to ongoing work in oak conservation worldwide; workshops in oak collecting, collections management, oak-focused botanical art and other topics; tours of the Arboretum’s world-renowned oak collection; and a seed exchange. Register today!

Nature Explore Educator Workshops

Join Nature Explore at The Morton Arboretum for engaging, research-based educator workshops that support comprehensive learning with nature. Saturday, June 6, 9:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. and/or 1:00-4:00 p.m.

Pages