Nature Art and Photography

Botanical art and illustration

Michael R. Jeffords and Susan L. Post have circled the globe--and explored their own neighborhood-- collecting strange and beautiful curiosities from across the natural world. Join them for an evening lecture in which they open their personal cabinet of curiosities and share stories of their most unusual encounters with nature at The Morton Arboretum. Thursday, November 15, 7:00 to 8:30 p.m.
Discover the world of fiber arts! Learn the basics of working with natural fibers and create a pair of woodland creatures, including a gnome or a hedgehog. Or, tap into the holiday spirit and craft a Santa Claus and elf at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, December 8, 2018, 10:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.
In linoleum block printing, a reduction print is a multicolored print created from a single block. Carrie will break down the process, teach how to plan the layers in an image, and share some tricks for registering the paper with ease at The Morton Arboretum. Two days: Saturday, December 1, through Sunday, December 2, 2018, 9:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.
Preserve and share your memories in the digital world by joining the Sterling Morton Library in their Tree-mendous Tree Stories Digitization Workshop at The Morton Arboretum. Wednesday, August 15 or Friday, August 24, 2018, 11:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m., or Monday, August 27, 2018, 10:00 a.m. to noon
Learn to make striking prints using botanical elements, and take home one-of-a-kind, fall-inspired work of art at The Morton Arboretum. Sunday, October 28, 2018, 11:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Join award-winning artist Lynne Railsback in painting plants of the Midwest’s woods and prairies at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, October 20 and Sunday, October 21, 2018, 9:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
See the Arboretum through the eyes of an expert photographer. Learn how to notice your surroundings with attention to light, angle, subject, and creative interpretation at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, October 13, or October 20, 2018, 1:00 to 4:00 p.m.
Enjoy a unique opportunity to study and draw magnificent beetle specimens under the microscope at The Morton Arboretum. Three Thursdays, October 11 through 25, 2018, 9:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.
Spend a summer evening with artist and scientist Julian Voss-Andreae, as he shares his work spanning quantum physics, biomolecules, and his novel approaches to figurative sculpture at The Morton Arboretum. NEW DATE! Tuesday, September 18, 2018, 7:00 p.m. to 8:30 p.m.
This forest therapy walk intertwines art and Shinrin-Yoku, the practice of bathing the senses in the atmosphere of the forest at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday July 21, Monday August 13, or Sunday September 16, 2018, 9:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.

Page controls