Natural Areas Conservation Training Program

Natural Areas Conservation Training Program

Digitally explore the intricacies of the prairie landscape and learn how to restore these signature American ecosystems at The Morton Arboretum. Online component begins Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Explore the colorful landscape of the fall prairie and discover the amazing relationships between the plants and animals that call it home at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, September 8, 2018, 8:00 to 11:00 a.m.
Join botanist Chris Benda for a guided tour of the fens of Illinois. Thursday, August 9, 2018, 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Learn to identify dragonflies and damselflies on the grounds of the Arboretum. Friday, August 3, 8:00 to 11:00 a.m.
Enrich your understanding of our local natural areas by learning to identify the most common native plants you’re likely to encounter at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, July 21, 2018, 9:00 to noon, or Saturday, August 4, 2018, 8:00 to 11:00 a.m.
Learn to identify prairie plants in their early stages of seasonal development at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, May 19, 2018, 1:30 to 4:30 p.m.
Learn to identify trees after they shed their leaves for the winter at The Morton Arboretum. NEW SECTION ADDED: In-person component on Friday, February 2, 1:00 to 4:00 p.m. Remaining sections are SOLD OUT.
Learn the essentials of woodland ecology and the woodland management techniques necessary to maintain threatened woodland ecosystems at The Morton Arboretum. (Registration opens August 21, 2018) Online component begins: Wednesday, November 28, 2018.
Explore the interactions that drive ecosystem function and learn to identify plants, animals, and fungi in relation to ecological habitats at The Morton Arboretum. (SOLD OUT) Online component begins: Friday, October 19, 2018. In-person component: Sunday, October 28, 2018, 1:00 to 5:00 p.m. NEW SECTION ADDED: Online components begins: Friday, November 9, 2018. In-person component: Sunday, November 18, 2018, noon to 4:00 p.m.
Learn to identify the trees you see every day in the woodlands and neighborhoods of the Chicago region at The Morton Arboretum. Sunday, September 16, 2018, 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Page controls