Conservation and Restoration

Conservation and restoration

Identify and apply short and long term restoration activities to enhance wildlife habitat at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, November 18, 2017, 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Learn the essentials of wetland ecology and the vital management techniques necessary to maintain threatened wetland ecosystems at The Morton Arboretum. This class will be offered again in August 2018. Registration will open Tuesday, May 22, 2018.
Learn principles and practices for managing critical habitats at The Morton Arboretum. This class will be offered again in August 2018. Registration will open Tuesday, May 22, 2018.
Learn the names and ecology of the wildflowers, sedges, rushes, and other plants that inhabit wetlands at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, June 23, 2018, 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Learn to identify the grasses that add beauty and interest to the summer and fall landscape at The Morton Arboretum. Tuesday, September 5, and Wednesday, September 6, 2017, 9:00 a.m.to 4:00 p.m.
The Chicago Region Trees Initiative has developed a full day, hands on training event for non-forestry professionals who work with trees. Tuesday, April 11, 2017, 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. Park Forest Village Hall
Get the botany basics you need to identify plants at The Morton Arboretum. New Online section added: Registration closes at 11:59 p.m., Wednesday, March 14, 2018. Online component begins: Thursday, March 15, 2018. Winter sessions start Sunday, May 6 for In-person only or Friday, June 1 for online only section.
Learn the names and ecology of the wildflowers that cover the woodland floor in spring at The Morton Arboretum. Online component begins: Friday, April 20, 2018 In person component: Friday, May 4 or Saturday, May 5, 2018, 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Discover the principles and practice of ecosystem restoration at The Morton Arboretum. Online component begins: Monday, April 9, 2018. In person component: Two Saturdays, April 14 and April 21, 2018, 9:00 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.
(SOLD OUT) Learn spring methods for propagating your favorite native plants at The Morton Arboretum.Sunday, March 18, 2018, 12:30 to 3:30 p.m. New section added for 8:30 to 11:30 a.m.

Page controls