Conservation and Restoration

Conservation and restoration

Workshops are designed to assist urban and rural foresters and arborists, landowners, and community decision makers in planning and implementing an effective EAB management plan. Wednesday, February 21;Thursday February 22; Friday, February 23; or Wednesday, February 28, 2018, 9:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.
Learn more about common oak species, current pests, and diseases of oaks, and how to manage oaks in natural and urban landscapes at The Morton Arboretum. Tuesday, January 30, 2018, 9:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.
Make a difference in your own backyard with simple ideas that have a big impact on the planet at The Morton Arboretum. Thursday, March 15, 2018, 7:00 to 9:30 p.m.
Learn to identify trees after they shed their leaves for the winter at The Morton Arboretum. NEW SECTION ADDED: In-person component on Friday, February 2, 1:00 to 4:00 p.m. Remaining sections are SOLD OUT.
Learn how biologists study and take action to conserve plants at The Morton Arboretum. Mondays and Wednesdays, January 29 through May 2, 2018. 6:00 to 8:00 p.m.
Open to current Arboretum Natural Resources volunteers only. Join the Natural Resources staff at The Morton Arboretum and other natural resource volunteers for a guided tour of the expansive Nachusa Grasslands. Thursday, June 15, 2017, 7:30 a.m. to 6:30 p.m.
Expand your grass identification skills in this expert workshop at The Morton Arboretum. Thursday, September 7, and Friday, September 8, 2017, 9:00 a.m.to 4:00 p.m.
Learn to identify and manage the most common invasive plants in the Great Lakes region at The Morton Arboretum. This class will be offered again in April 2018. Registration will open Tuesday, February 20, 2018
Learn identification and ecology of the fish, turtles, and crayfish found in the rivers of northern Illinois at The Morton Arboretum. Thursday, June 22, 2017, 6:30 to 9:30 p.m.
Join an Arboretum expert for a cup of hot cocoa and a winter stroll through the conifer collection. Saturday, February 10 or 17, 2018, 10:00 a.m. to noon

Pages