Conservation and Restoration

Conservation and restoration

Learn how to tell invasive aquatic plants apart from native look-alikes and how to report invaders when you find them in this one-day workshop at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday July 8, 2017, 12:30 to 4:30 p.m.
Learn to identify and manage the most common invasive plants in the Great Lakes region at The Morton Arboretum. Online component begins: Thursday, May 18, 2017, In-person component: Thursday, May 25, 2017, 6:00 to 9:00 p.m.
Learn identification and ecology of the fish, turtles, and crayfish found in the rivers of northern Illinois at The Morton Arboretum. Thursday, June 22, 2017, 6:30 to 9:30 p.m.
First Aid and CPR class will teach you the skills you need to keep yourself and others safe while working at the Arboretum. Wednesday, January 25, or February 22, 2017, 10:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m., or Thursday, January 26, or February 23, 2017, 10:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.
Join an Arboretum expert for a cup of hot cocoa and a winter stroll through the conifer collection. Sunday, February 12, 2017, 1:00 to 3:00 p.m.
Hear the fascinating history of Chicago’s parks from author and historian Julia S. Bachrach at The Morton Arboretum. (Sold Out) Thursday, March 30, 2017, 7:00 to 8:30 p.m.
Browse a selection of ornamental and edible seeds, and take home a variety to plant this spring at The Morton Arboretum. Saturday, January 21, 2017, noon to 3:00 p.m.
Conference: Help curb the spread of problem plants escaping from cultivation at The Morton Arboretum. Thursday, November 10, 2016, 8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Learn to identify the trees you see every day in the woodlands and neighborhoods of the Chicago region as you enjoy their brilliant fall colors at The Morton Arboretum. Online component begins: Thursday, September 29, 2016. In-person component: Thursday October 6, 6:00 to 8:00 p.m. and Saturday October 8, 9:00 a.m. to noon.
Identify and apply short and long term restoration activities to enhance wildlife habitat at The Morton Arboretum. (Canceled) Online component begins: Friday, March 3, 2017. In person component: Saturday, March 11, 2017, 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Pages